Lights, Camera, Action!

(Scene from Agora)

How well can you visualize the scene bleeding through the pages? Do the descriptions grip your senses and emotions? Is the dialogue well-balanced and fitting? Each scene of the story should help propel the plot forward. I like to imagine every scene in my story like a movie. Visualizing the characters appearance, the way they deliver their lines and actions in a given scene helps makes the story come alive in your mind and in turn the scene should be real to the readers.

Each chapter can be likened to a mini story. Each chapter should have a main plot, a beginning, middle, and an end which can be a cliffhanger. I tried to create a thematic scene with the latest chapter to Chasing Blue now available at the link. “Dead End” was a chapter I was anticipating on writing for a long time because it’s the final tipping point to the whole story and forces Troy to come to terms with his past. In the chapter you have the setup which picks up from the cliffhanger from the previous chapter (you’ll have to read chapter 27 to know what I’m talking about). The thrust of the chapter is that Troy and his friends plan a tour around Rome so Julia and Clitus can be together. However things go off plan, and that’s what makes it interesting and dangerous all at the same time. Cliffhangers? You bet!

While I don’t expect my stories to turn into movies that doesn’t mean you can’t make it thematic. Here’s a book trailer I made for my story Chasing Blue. In line with the last post, part of my advertising strategy is creating a video showcasing the plot of the story. I plan to create a book trailer for Before the Legend so stay tune.

8 thoughts on “Lights, Camera, Action!

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look
    when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI,
    just 3G .. Anyhow, amazing site!

    • I’m glad my blog loaded up so quickly on your iPhone. You reminded me I need to test it on my Android smartphone to see if it loads up as quick. Thanks for visiting the Story Nook and do please stop by again. New content is up and more is coming in the weeks ahead. I’m testing out a new design for the site so hopefully viewers like it 🙂

  2. Can I simply say what a relief to discover somebody who really understands what
    they’re discussing over the internet. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More people ought to check this out and understand this side of the story. I can’t believe you aren’t more popular because you surely have the gift.

    • I’m glad you really enjoyed the content I put up on the Nook. I try my best to share things I’ve learned as a writer that I feel will be beneficial for others. Greatly appreciate your comment and other encouraging comments I’ve got on this post and others as well. I don’t think it’ll be ever be popular but I do hope others such as yourself continue to come back. I’m usually playing around with the layout and new content is coming up soon. If you like what you see, feel free to spread the word.

Leave a Reply

